Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

Department of

Dramaturgy and Musicology

About Dramaturgy and Musicology

The Department of Dramaturgy and Musicology is one of the nine departments at the School of Communication and Culture at Aarhus University. There are about 30 researchers, teachers and PhD students affiliated with the department, 18 of whom are tenured. They teach and supervise more than 400 students of musicology and dramaturgy.

The department is located in the beautiful old barracks on Langelandsgade, where there is a vibrant environment for both teachers and students alongside the other aesthetic and artistic subjects.

Research environment and collaboration

The researchers at the department work with researchers from other departments in cross-disciplinary research programmes such as: Cultural Transformations; Fiction and Fictionality; Modernity and Cultural Transfer; Globalisation, Migration and Memory; and Mediality, Materiality and Aesthetic Meaning.

The department’s teachers and researchers are very involved in cultural activities and have strong relationships and partnerships with institutions of culture such as the European Capital of Culture 2017, ILT, the Odin Theatre, the Aarhus Vocal Festival and the SPOT Festival.

Read more about the subjects: 

Upcoming events at the department

Thu 01 Oct
00:01-23:59 |
Call for Co-Tutelle PhD projects: Mobilizing Dramaturgy
Aarhus University and Coventry University and inviting applications from suitably qualified graduates under the AU Faculty of Arts Open Call for PhD scholarships for PhD research on the new cotutuelle programme Mobilizing Dramaturgy. Application deadline: 1 October 2020 at 23.59 Danish time (CET/CETS) Enrolment start: 1 February 2021.
Mon 07 Dec
09:00-14:00 | Langelandsgade 139, 8000 Aarhus C + Online
Research workshop: Beyond Participation
A methodology workshop on new approaches to the research of the changing institutional contexts of contemporary theatre and art production, organized by Prof. Alexandra Portmann, Bern University/CH, and Prof. Peter M. Boenisch, Aarhus University/DK.