Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl


The lab currently employs three researchers (core personnel) and collaborates with scientists and scholars around the world as well as research assistants and interns.

Core Personnel

Lab Director

Collaborators and Friends of the Lab:

  • Dr. Daniel T. Blumstein, ethologist and evolutionary biologist with research expertise on fear in non-human mammals, Professor in the Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology at UCLA.
  • Dr. Brian Boutwell, behavioral geneticist with an interest in human cognition and the evolution of minds and consciousness and how these topics relate to frightening and fearful experiences, Associate Professor at The University of Mississippi and University of Mississippi Medical Center.
  • Dr. Matthew Hudson, cognitive neuroscientist with an interest in social interactions and horror movies, Lecturer in Psychology at the National College of Ireland.
  • Dr. John A. Johnson, personality psychologist with an interest in the psychological underpinnings of scary media, Professor Emeritus of Penn State University.
  • Dr. Dawn Keetley, horror scholar and Professor of English at Lehigh University and co-founder of Horror Homeroom
  • Dr. Margee Kerr, haunted house researcher and fear sociologist, lecturer at the University of Pittsburgh.
  • Jens Kjeldgaard-Christiansen, media scholar with expertise on frightening media and fictional villains and PhD student in the English Department at Aarhus University.
  • Dr. Catherine Lester, expert on children’s horror films and Lecturer in Film and Television in the Department of Film and Creative Writing, University of Birmingham.
  • Dr. Teresa Lynch, communication scientist with expertise in processes and effects of fear with specific interest in video game contexts, Assistant Professor in the School of Communication at The Ohio State University and director of Chronos Laboratory.
  • Dr. Jakub Polák, psychologist with expertise in fear research, researcher at the National Institute of Mental Health, Czechia.
  • Henry C. W. Price, theoretical physicist with an interest in frightening entertainment, research postgraduate at Imperial London College, Department of Physics.
  • Dr. Fernando Rosas, data scientist with an interest in the interplay between data and frightening entertainment, Research Associate at Imperial London College, Department of Brain Science and Data Science Institute.
  • Dr. Uffe Schjoedt, cognitive scientist of religion with an interest in dysphoric ritual, associate professor in the Department of the Study of Religion, Aarhus University.
  • Coltan Scrivner, expert on morbid curiosity and PhD student in the Department of Comparative Human Development at The University of Chicago and a Fellow at the Institute for Mind and Biology in the Behavioral Biology Lab.
  • Dr. Susan Weidmann, tourism scholar with an interest in the intersections of immersive horror leisure, tourism experiences and emotions, Lecturer in the Department of Recreation Management and Physical Education at Appalachian State University in Boone, North Carolina.

Research Assistants (Current and Former):

Emilie Bagger, Theiss Bendixen, Charlotte B. Bentsen, Stephen Bjerregaard, Eva Døgg Bragadóttir, Anna Sofie Bruun, Line Rosengaard Carlsen, Lene Engelst Christensen, Signe Clausen, Nanna R. Dahl, Mira Dønstrup, Maria Ellebøg, Tinne Frederiksen, Marie Cecilie Gammelby, Satine B. R. von Gersdorff, Mette Hviid-Vyff, Marc Kofoed Hye-Knudsen, Bonnie Iburg, Mark M. Jensen, Patricia Mellany Jensen, Cecilie Møller Johansen, Sissel Jørgensen, Mathilde Kellberg, Jens Kjeldgaard-Christiansen, Sarah Klainberger, Erik Klintø, Freja Hovgaard Knudsen, Maja Kruse, Ninna Vestergaard Lorenzen, Sofie L. Madsen, Johan Mejniche, Agnethe Mogensen, Lena Molin, Anne B. Møller, Laura B. Olsen, Theis Oxholm, Daniel I. K. Pedersen, Julie Pedersen, Mads Jessen Pedersen, Niels Riis, Sarah Isabella Roed, Kristine Schulz, Peter M. Self, Oliver Toft Sivebæk, Esther Stadsholt, Martin Stigaard, Marie Bach Søgaard, Marie-Louise Søndergaard, Katrine D. Sørensen, Alexander L. B. Sørensen, Emma Thomsen, Katrine Naujokat Thorsen, Rina Vijayasundaram, Eva Vium, Jannik Wiggers, Lars Williams, and Albertina Yago.

Lab Interns:

Marie-Louise Søndergaard (fall 2020)

Katrine Dahl Sørensen (fall 2020)

Former Lab Interns:

Marc Hye-Knudsen

Johan Mejniche