Department of Media and Journalism Studies

About Media and Journalism Studies

About Media studies

The Media Studies Programme is concerned with the analysis of Danish and international media. Areas of focus include political and institutional perspectives, textual forms of expression, production conditions, media consumption, media history and media theory.  The field of media studies includes traditional mass media, film and the new digital media, as well as the interplay between these forms. The Media Studies Programme at Aarhus University was established in 1986. Since its inception, the programme has emphasised empirical approaches, both in research and learning contexts.

The research environment

The programme’s researchers apply a diverse range of theoretical and methodological approaches to the consumption, politics and production of media. In a variety of research projects, they have contributed to the development of the field of media studies, through the investigation of the media’s function, organisation and forms of expression in both contemporary and historical cultural and social contexts, both nationally and internationally.

The Media Studies Programme has a long tradition of collaboration with key players on the Danish and international media market through specific research projects, involvement of external partners in teaching, and in more general knowledge exchange and outreach activities.  In recent years our researchers have worked with DR and TV2 (Danish TV stations), the Danish Film Institute, Egmont, Bonnier Publications, the Danish Producers' Association , Nordisk Film, Metronome, BLU and Nordjyske Medier.

About Journalism

Journalism is a relatively new, independent programme at Arts with close connections to different fields in the humanities and social sciences. The programme focuses on journalism's social significance and its various forms (e.g. genres) and media-related conditions. Teaching, research and knowledge-sharing in this subject take place in close cooperation with programmes in media studies and political science, the Danish School of Journalism and a number of commercial media enterprises.

The research environment

In addition to consistent focus on the importance of journalism in democratic processes, research on journalism also deals with the wider economic, social and cultural processes involved in the production, distribution and consumption of different kinds of journalistic content. One specific focus area is the changes occurring as a result of the dissemination of digital technologies.

Staff

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Nielsen, Alexander Peter
Bendixen, Alexandrastudab@au.dk1442, 111
Karlsson, AmandaPhD Studentakarl@cc.au.dk5347, 131
Foss, Andersfoss@cc.au.dk+45871619695335, 242
Nielsen, Anders EllebyStudentanders.elleby.nielsen@post.au.dk
Halskov, AndreasPart-time Lecturer
Gammelby, Ane Kathrine LolholmPhD Studentak@cc.au.dk+45871632085335, 157
Stegger Gemzøe, Anna!!Intern medbedømmerannastegger@hotmail.com
Henriksen, AnneResearch Assistantannehovehenriksen@cc.au.dk
Rasmussen, Anne Hebsgaard
Waade, Anne MaritAssociate professoramwaade@cc.au.dk+45871620095335, 245
Jensen, Anne-Louiseannelouise_korsgaard@yahoo.dk
Harlung, AsgerProject Coordinator NetLab, e-Learning Consultant MAasger@cc.au.dk5347
Andersen, BettinaSpecial Consultantband@au.dk+45871620255335, 151
Lange, Charlottechl@cc.au.dk
Knudsen, Christina Teilmann
Bendixen, Elizabeth
Riis, Ellen BirgittePart-time Lecturerimver@cc.au.dk
Mortensen, FrandsProfessorfmorten@cc.au.dk+45871619635347, 141
Bendixen, FrederikStudent programmerf.bendixen@cc.au.dk5347
Stald, Gitte Bang
Bruun, HanneAssociate professorhbruun@cc.au.dk+45871619745335, 236
Degn, Hans-PeterTeaching Associate Professorhpd@cc.au.dk+45871620145335, 238
Bødker, HenrikAssociate professorhb@cc.au.dk+45871620025335, 233
Kastenskov, Henrik Hvolby
Have, IbenAssociate professoribenhave@cc.au.dk+45871620155335, 246
Nielsen, Jakob IsakAssociate professorjakobisak@cc.au.dk+45871619865335, 251
Nielsen, JanneAssistant Professorjanne@cc.au.dk+45871620055347, 242
Haaning, JensPart-time Lecturerjhaaning@cc.au.dk
Tække, JesperAssociate professorimvjet@cc.au.dk+45871620215335, 253
Gustafsson, Jessicajessica.gustafsson@cc.au.dk+45871619785347, 140
Kim, JiyoungPhD Studentjiyoung@cc.au.dk5347, 117
Grønborg, Joeb HøfdinghoffPhD Studentjoebhg@cc.au.dk5347, 220
Hansen, Kasperkasperhansen@cc.au.dk
Liisberg, Kasper Bering
Sørensen, Katrine BroeResearch Assistantkbs@cc.au.dk
Frandsen, KirstenAssociate professorimvkf@cc.au.dk+45871619645335, 235
Sparre, KirstenAssistant Professorksp@cc.au.dk+45871632545335, 155
Reseke, Kristina Hartlev
Heiselberg, Lene
Thomsen, Line HassallPart-time Lecturerlht@cc.au.dk+45871632075335, 154
Kristensen, Lottelkr@cc.au.dk
Verge, Louise
Barbagallo, Lukas Arlien-Søborg H
Andersen, Mads MøllerPhD Studentmandersen@cc.au.dk5347, 233
Sonne Damkjær, MajaPostdocimvmsd@cc.au.dk+45871626695347, 218
Vestergaard, Margrethe Andreasen
Nielsen, Martin Lykke
Meyer, Martin MøllerResearch Assistantmartinmeyer@cc.au.dk
Korsgaard, Mathias BondeAssistant Professornormbk@cc.au.dk+45871632031485, 540
Fahlberg, Mathilde
Toustrup, MortenPhD Studentmtp@cc.au.dk5347, 119
Klausen, Morten Bondeimvmbk@au.dk+45871620135347, 125
Brügger, NielsProfessor with Special Responsibilitiesnb@cc.au.dk+45871619715347, 236
Hartvigson, Niels HenrikPart-time Lecturer
Bonde, Niels Holtse
Jauert, PerAssociate professorpjauert@cc.au.dk+45871619685335, 237
Jensen, Pia MajbrittAssociate professorpiamj@cc.au.dk+45871626525335, 240
Nielsen, Poul ErikAssociate professorimvpen@cc.au.dk+45871619735347, 238
Jørgensen, Rasmus
Hammershøy, Rasmus DueProject Assistantrasmus@itforum.dk+4526252685
Lund, Rasmus RørdamResearch Assistantrrl@cc.au.dk
Raskin, Richard!!Lektor emeritusraskin@cc.au.dk+45871619675347, 232
Kristensen-McLachlan, Ross DeansResearch Assistantrdkm@cc.au.dk
Xu, RuiPhD Studentrui_xu@cc.au.dk5335, 156
Iversen, Rune Vejersø
Wedel, Sanne Opstrup
Schorr, SarahPart-time Lecturerimvsgs@cc.au.dk5347, 019-021
Sørensen, Senia Dremstrup
Saabye, Sigrid NielsenPhD Studentssaabye@cc.au.dk5347, 219
Ørberg, Simon
Rosengreen, Simone SkaarupStudent Workersimonerosengreen@cc.au.dk5347
Liisberg, SunePart-time Lecturerliisberg@mgmt.au.dk1483, 424
Eichner, SusanneAssociate professorseichner@cc.au.dk+45871620515335, 244
Balle, Søren
Kristensen, Søren IngerslevStudent Counsellorsorenkristensen@au.dk+458716126487 16 12 64, 020
Bastholm, Søren RørdamPart-time Lecturer
Ngomba, Teke JacobAssociate professorimvjnt@cc.au.dk+45871620085335, 158
Nørgaard, ThomasResearch Assistantthomas.noergaard@cc.au.dk
Gretlund, Tina
Østergaard, Troels GregersenPhD Studenttroelsoestergaard@cc.au.dk5335, 242
Have, Ulrich Karstoftukh@cc.au.dk+45871628385335, 258
From, UnniCentre Directorimvuf@cc.au.dk+45871619795335, 241
Teilmann, Xenia SamsøeStudent Workerxenia@cc.au.dk5335

Employer panel

The participants in the employer panel are involved in developing up-to-date study programs that match the competences companies and institutions demand of their employees. Here is an overview of the panel for the Department of Media and Journalism Studies.


Panel

  • Rasmus Ladefoged, Direktør, Metronome

Forum

Latest publications

Sort by: Date | Author | Title

2018

2017

Upcoming events

No articles found in this list


Head of department

Jakob Isak Nielsen

Associate professor
M
H bldg. 5335, 251
P +4587161986
P +4530587398