Aarhus University Seal

Interrogating the Modes of Videographic Criticism


24-25 February 2022

DAY 1 - 24 February / 16:00-21:00 CET

Introduction to symposium

16:00-16:15 CET

Maria Hofmann, Kathleen Loock, Alan O’Leary


16:15-21:00 CET

The three consecutive panels on Day 1 will interrogate the affordances and knowledge claims of three modes of videographic practice. Panellists have been asked to speak to one or more of the following questions in relation to the panel theme for max 10 minutes: 

  • What are the unique affordances of the panel mode — what can it access or achieve that other modes can’t? 
  • What are its weaknesses (political, epistemological, aesthetic…)? 
  • What are the potentials of the mode — what should be done with it next?

Panellists will share relevant materials (e.g., audiovisual material or short texts) with participants in advance of the symposium.

Panel 1: Desktop Documentary

16:15-17:45 CET

Resources for panel 1 are found here

Convenor: Maria Hofmann

Chair: Maria Pramaggiore (Maynooth University)


  • Juan Llamas-Rodriguez (University of Texas at Dallas), "Searching for the World on your Desktop"
  • Grace Lee (video essayist, What's So Great About That),"Get Ready With Me: Sharing struggles, stories and screens in the video essay on YouTube"
  • David Sorfa (University of Edinburgh), "Disappearing into the Mise-en-Abîme: Implying but Not Making Arguments in the Video Essay"
  • Stephanie Brown (Washington College), "Desktop Documentary and the Practice of Everyday Life"

Respondent: Kevin B. Lee (Università della Svizzera italiana)

Panel 2: Parametric/Deformative/Experimental

18:00-19:30 CET

Resources for panel 2 are found here

Convenor: Alan O’Leary (Aarhus University)

Chair: Susan Harewood (University of Washington)


  • Ariel Avissar (Tel Aviv University), “The Collaborative Potential of Algorithmic Procedures (and the Algorithmic Potential of Collaboration)”
  • Kevin Ferguson (CUNY), "Tennis for Yes, Home for No: Medical Imaging as Videographic Criticism?"
  • Jenny Oyallon-Koloski (University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign), “Poetic parameters: Leading with form and the limits of parametric scholarship”
  • Matthew Thomas Payne (University of Notre Dame), “Break it, ’til you make it”
  • Maryam Tafakory (artist filmmaker), "Cryptic mediators, un/spoken prohibitions"

Respondent: Jason Mittell (Middlebury College)

Panel 3: Personal Explorations

19:45-21:15 CET

Resources for panel 3 are found here

Convenor: Kathleen Loock (Leibniz University Hannover)

Chair: Elizabeth Alsop (CUNY)


  • Evelyn Kreutzer (Konrad Wolf Film Universität Babelsberg), “Cinematic Hauntings and Videographic Explorations”
  • Cormac Donnelly (University of Glasgow),Personal Exploration: Thoughts from a safe place?”
  • Hoang Tan Nguyen (UC San Diego), “Seeing You, Feeling Me”
  • Katie Bird (University of Texas El Paso), “Scrubbing through the Timeline: Editing ​What I Feel to Myself"
  • Kathleen Loock (Leibniz University Hannover), “Time Machines: Video Essays at the Intersection of Individual and Cultural Memory”

 Respondent: Christian Keathley (Middlebury College)

Day 2 - 25 February 2022 / 16:00-21:00 CET

Introduction to Day 2

16:00-16:15 CET

Maria Hofmann, Kathleen Loock, Alan O’Leary

Parallel Workshops

Each of these workshops, run simultaneously, is led by a pair of scholars or practitioners of videographic criticism or other forms of filmmaking research who collaborate to define a topic for investigation and to draft a set of questions that speak to their own interests and to the concerns of the videographic community as a whole.

Click on the individual workshops to access information and questions for participants from the workshop convenors.

16:15-18:00 CET (workshops)

  1. Johannes Binotto (Lucerne School of Art and Design/University of Zurich) and Ben Spatz (University of Huddersfield): "Techniques of Videographic Entanglement"
  2. Jaap Kooijman (University of Amsterdam) and Mathias Bonde Korsgaard (Aarhus University): "Sound and Music in Videographic Criticism"
  3. Andrea Comiskey (University of Pittsburgh) and Maike Sarah Reinerth (Film University Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF): "Animation and/as Videographic Criticism"
  4. Will DiGravio (video essayist, critic, podcaster) and Cydnii Wilde Harris (film scholar, writer, video essayist): "Accessibility & the Audiovisual Essay: The Good, The Bad, and The Upturn"
  5. Barbara Zecchi (University of Massachusetts Amherst), Anupama Prabhala (Loyola Marymount University) and Danielle Hipkins (University of Exeter): "The Accented Videoessay"


Participants in the closing roundtable will offer their assessments of the debates at the event as a whole and address any themes they consider important for future debates/events and for the development of the practises of videographic criticism and research filmmaking.

18:15-20:00 CET

Chair: Neepa Majumdar (University of Pittsburgh)


  • Allison de Fren (Occidental College)
  • Ian Garwood (University of Glasgow)
  • Catherine Grant (filmmaker and Honorary Research Fellow, Birkbeck university)
  • Chiara Grizzaffi (IULM University)
  • Maria Hofmann (film scholar and video essayist / event co-organiser)
  • Alan O’Leary (University of Aarhus / event co-organiser)

Thanks followed by informal online mingling

20:00-21:00 CET