

The Centre for Digital Methods and Media (CDMM)

Rules and Regulations (version 1.0)

Niels Brügger

Professor, PhD, Head of the Centre for Digital Methods and Media, of the Centre for Internet Studies, and of NetLab

Date: 8 January 2021

Tel.: +45 2945 3231 E-mail: nb@cc.au.dk

Page 1/4

§ 1 Centre name, establishment, and home

The name of the centre is The Centre for Digital Methods and Media (CDMM).

The centre was established 20 February 2020.

The home of the centre is the Department of Media and Journalism Studies, the School of Communication and Culture, Aarhus University.

§ 2 Objectives

The objectives of the centre are to promote the critical use, development and promotion of digital methods within media and journalism studies, and to make CDMM a strong international partner within this field.

The centre will fulfill its objectives through a number of activities, which include, but are not limited to:

- offering an open and inclusive forum for academic discussions about the use, critique and development of digital methods within media and journalism studies;
- disseminating knowledge about digital methods by organising competence building workshops, and similar events with a view to introduce relevant digital approaches, software, etc. in research and teaching;
- initiating joint research activities with external partners, attracting external funding, and developing syllabi;
- organising seminars and workshops to bring together national and international scholars and IT developers for identifying joint research approaches and facilitating knowledge exchange;
- fostering the active integration of junior researchers and their approaches to advance and develop digital methods;
- reaching out to and participating in relevant national and international networks;

Tel.: 8716 1200 E-mail: cc@au.dk

cc.au.dk

Side 2/4

- hosting national and international visiting scholars;
- engaging in joint PhD training;
- visiting relevant network partners.

§ 3 Membership

The centre is open to researchers, teaching staff, and IT-developers from the home institution and to researchers, teaching staff, and IT-developers from other Departments at Aarhus University with a relevant interest in digital methods and media.

An individual who wants to become a member of the centre submits a brief description of relevant interests in the centre's field of activites. An application to become a centre member should be submitted to the centre head.

The Steering Group shall have the discretion to admit or refuse to admit any researcher wanting to become a member. A member can be excluded if agreed by 2/3 of the attendees at an Annual General Meeting.

§ 4 Annual General Meeting (AGM)

Centre members exercise their member's influence through the Annual General Meeting (AGM).

The AGM constitutes the centre's supreme authority.

An AGM is held at least once per calendar year. An extraordinary AGM can be called by at least one third of the centre members.

The agenda for the ordinary AGM must include at least the following items:

- 1. Election of chairperson for the AGM
- 2. Election of minutes taker
- 3. Approval of agenda
- 4. Centre head's report
- 5. Finances
- 6. Centre activities in the coming period
- 7. Submitted suggestions
- 8. Election of Centre Head (every second year), of Steering Group members, and of alternates
- 9. Any other business

All centre members can participate in and vote at the AGM. Each attendee can cast one vote. A quorum is formed by the members turning up at a regularly announced meeting.

The Steering Group is responsible for calling the AGM.



Side 3/4

The AGM must be called at three weeks' notice. The final agenda must be announced no later than seven days before the meeting.

Suggestions to be considered at an AGM must be submitted to the Steering Group no later than two weeks before the meeting, and must be communicated to the members with the final agenda and the budget.

Decisions of the AGM are made by simple majority vote, with the Centre Head having the casting vote in the event of a tie, except for amendments to the Rules and Regulations (cf. § 7).

§ 5 Centre Head

The centre is headed by a Centre Head.

The Centre Head calls Steering Group meetings and manages ongoing business in accordance with Steering Group decisions.

The Centre Head represents the Steering Group in cases where agreement is reached.

The Centre Head is elected among members at an AGM every second year, including the election of a personal alternate.

§ 6 Steering Group (SG)

The purpose of the Steering Group (SG) is to manage the centre.

Functions of the SG will include:

- defining, planning and approving centre activities;
- establishing and implementing a procedure for the addition of new members to the centre;
- advising on the programme for centre events;
- monitoring the centre budget, including the repurposing of expenditure as necessary;

The SG has five members. The membership of the SG comprises the following:

- the Centre Head (Chair);
- Four centre members, at least one being a PhD/early career researcher.

The four ordinary SG members are elected among members at an AGM every second year, two in even years, two in uneven years. Also, one alternate is elected for the SG members at the same election.



Side 4/4

Meetings will be held at least two times per year. Meetings are called by the Chair.

Process:

- three members are required to attend each meeting of the SG for it to be quorate;
- decisions of the SG will be by majority vote, with the Chair having the casting vote in the event of a tie;
- members can cast their vote in person, by email, writing, or similar before the meeting by sending it to all SG members,
- SG membership and meeting frequency may be reviewed and updated by the Chair in collaboration with SG members where necessary.

§ 7 Amendments to the Rules and Regulations

Amendments to the Rules and Regulations must be approved at an AGM or an extraordinary AGM by at least a 2/3 majority vote. In case a 2/3 majority is not achieved a new AGM can be called where the amendments can be carried by a simple majority among the attendees.

Approved at centre meeting 8 January 2021.