Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

Participatory culture

This research group is a forum for the investigation of user-generated production and user-driven participation across a variety of social fields and participatory platforms, e.g. urban spaces, aesthetic co-productions and online environments. The concept of participatory culture is currently flourishing in public discourses, institutions, and in academic disciplines. Participation has become a highly valued ‘currency’. The overall focus of the research group is to investigate, consolidate, critique, and discus the increasing interest in participation and the socially transformative and democratic potentials and limits of participation. The research group will participate in the on-going academic qualification of what participatory culture is and involves and in the understanding of the logics and motivating forces behind participatory processes. Furthermore the research group engages in the discussion of the relations between user-generated material and established institutions and the often-complex results of these processes and relations.

The research group has meetings every semester. Members of the research group have organized several conferences for example “RETHINK Participatory Cultural Citizenship: When is Citizen Participation Socially Transformative” (2013), “Participation and Cultural Transformation: Transdisciplinary Perspectives and Cross-institutional Practices” (2015), “Addressing the role of media in interpersonal communication and social interaction – in different contexts and professions” (2015) and ”RE-DO – on sustainability and culture’s role in sustainable futures” (2015). Furthermore members of the research group have initiated and are editing Conjunctions: Transdisciplinary Journal of Cultural Participation. www.conjunctions-tjcp.com

Participants: Camilla Møhring ReestorffBirgit ErikssonCarsten StageDorthe Refslund ChristensenTina Thode HougaardLouise Ejgod HansenLouise FabianAnne Marit WaadeJan Løhmann StephensenIda KrøgholtJohan Kjærulff RasmussenVlada BotoricLoni LeddererHanne KnudsenLise Dilling-HansenChristina JerneThomas MarkussenJonas FritschStine Liv JohansenInka Salovaara, Kjetil Sandvik, Anna HolderClaus Toft-NielsenHelle Breth Klausen, Susanne Eichner