Department of Media and Journalism Studies

About Media and Journalism Studies

About Media studies

The Media Studies Programme is concerned with the analysis of Danish and international media. Areas of focus include political and institutional perspectives, textual forms of expression, production conditions, media consumption, media history and media theory.  The field of media studies includes traditional mass media, film and the new digital media, as well as the interplay between these forms. The Media Studies Programme at Aarhus University was established in 1986. Since its inception, the programme has emphasised empirical approaches, both in research and learning contexts.

The research environment

The programme’s researchers apply a diverse range of theoretical and methodological approaches to the consumption, politics and production of media. In a variety of research projects, they have contributed to the development of the field of media studies, through the investigation of the media’s function, organisation and forms of expression in both contemporary and historical cultural and social contexts, both nationally and internationally.

The Media Studies Programme has a long tradition of collaboration with key players on the Danish and international media market through specific research projects, involvement of external partners in teaching, and in more general knowledge exchange and outreach activities.  In recent years our researchers have worked with DR and TV2 (Danish TV stations), the Danish Film Institute, Egmont, Bonnier Publications, the Danish Producers' Association , Nordisk Film, Metronome, BLU and Nordjyske Medier.

About Journalism

Journalism is a relatively new, independent programme at Arts with close connections to different fields in the humanities and social sciences. The programme focuses on journalism's social significance and its various forms (e.g. genres) and media-related conditions. Teaching, research and knowledge-sharing in this subject take place in close cooperation with programmes in media studies and political science, the Danish School of Journalism and a number of commercial media enterprises.

The research environment

In addition to consistent focus on the importance of journalism in democratic processes, research on journalism also deals with the wider economic, social and cultural processes involved in the production, distribution and consumption of different kinds of journalistic content. One specific focus area is the changes occurring as a result of the dissemination of digital technologies.

Staff

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Nielsen, Alexander Peter
Bendixen, Alexandrastudab@au.dk1442, 111
Karlsson, AmandaPhD Studentakarl@cc.au.dk+45406037345335, 253
Foss, Andersfoss@cc.au.dk5335, 257
Nielsen, Anders EllebyStudentanders.elleby.nielsen@post.au.dk
Halskov, AndreasPart-time Lecturer
Gammelby, Ane Kathrine LolholmPhD Studentak@cc.au.dk5335, 158
Stegger Gemzøe, Anna!!Intern medbedømmerannastegger@hotmail.com
Henriksen, AnneResearch Assistantannehovehenriksen@cc.au.dk+45935088435347, 136
Waade, Anne MaritAssociate professoramwaade@cc.au.dk+45871620095335, 245
Harlung, AsgerProject Coordinator NetLab, e-Learning Consultant MAasger@cc.au.dk5347
Andersen, BettinaSpecial Consultantband@au.dk+45871620255335, 151
Lange, Charlottechl@cc.au.dk
Knudsen, Christina Teilmann
Bendixen, Elizabeth
Mortensen, FrandsProfessorfmorten@cc.au.dk+45871619635347, 141
Bendixen, FrederikStudent programmerf.bendixen@cc.au.dk5347
Stald, Gitte Bang
Bruun, HanneAssociate professorhbruun@cc.au.dk+45871619745335, 236
Degn, Hans-PeterTeaching Associate Professorhpd@cc.au.dk+45871620145335, 238
Bødker, HenrikAssociate professorhb@cc.au.dk+45871620025335, 233
Kastenskov, Henrik Hvolby
Have, IbenAssociate professoribenhave@cc.au.dk+45871620155335, 246
Nielsen, Jakob IsakAssociate professorjakobisak@cc.au.dk+45871619865335, 251
Nielsen, JanneAssistant Professorjanne@cc.au.dk+45267483835335, 248
Haaning, JensPart-time Lecturerjhaaning@cc.au.dk
Tække, JesperAssociate professorimvjet@cc.au.dk+45871620215335, 242
Kim, JiyoungPhD Studentjiyoung@cc.au.dk5335, 253
Grønborg, Joeb HøfdinghoffPhD Studentjoebhg@cc.au.dk5335, 154
Daugaard, JuliePart-time Lecturerjuliedaugaard@cc.au.dk
Povlsen, Karen Klitgaard!!Lektor, Emeritakarenk@cc.au.dk+45303478265335, 240
Hansen, Kasperkasperhansen@cc.au.dk
Liisberg, Kasper Bering
Sørensen, Katrine BroePhD Studentkbs@cc.au.dk5335, 261
Frandsen, KirstenAssociate professorimvkf@cc.au.dk+45871619645335, 235
Sparre, KirstenAssistant Professorksp@cc.au.dk+45871632545335, 155
Reseke, Kristina Hartlev
Heiselberg, Lene
Thomsen, Line HassallPart-time Lecturerlht@cc.au.dk+45871632075347, 140
Verge, Louise
Barbagallo, Lukas Arlien-Søborg H
Gemzøe, Lynge SteggerResearch Assistantlynge@cc.au.dk
Albers, MadsPart-time Lecturer
Andersen, Mads MøllerPhD Studentmandersen@cc.au.dk+45871619565335, 255
Nielsen, Martin Lykke
Meyer, Martin MøllerResearch Assistantmartinmeyer@cc.au.dk5347, 138
Korsgaard, Mathias BondeAssistant Professornormbk@cc.au.dk+45871632035335, 264
Fahlberg, Mathilde
Stephan, MatthiasPart-time Lecturerengms@cc.au.dk
Brænder, MortenAssociate professormortenb@ps.au.dk+45871656211341, 120
Sørensen, Morten SødingPart-time Lecturerau138478@cc.au.dk
Brügger, NielsProfessor with Special Responsibilitiesnb@cc.au.dk+45871619715335, 239
Hartvigson, Niels HenrikPart-time Lecturer
Bonde, Niels Holtse
Chow, Pei SzePostdocpschow@cc.au.dk+45871620185335, 263
Jauert, PerAssociate professorpjauert@cc.au.dk+45871619935335, 240
Jensen, Pia MajbrittAssociate professorpiamj@cc.au.dk+45871626525335, 243
Nielsen, Poul ErikAssociate professorimvpen@cc.au.dk+45871619735335, 237
Jørgensen, Rasmus
Lund, Rasmus RørdamResearch Assistantrrl@cc.au.dk5347, 138
Raskin, Richard!!Lektor emeritusraskin@cc.au.dk+45871619675347, 232
Kristensen-McLachlan, Ross DeansResearch Assistantrdkm@cc.au.dk+45299168975347, 136
Iversen, Rune Vejersø
Wedel, Sanne Opstrup
Laadal Mortensen, SaraPart-time Lecturerslaa@cc.au.dk
Sørensen, Senia Dremstrup
Saabye, Sigrid NielsenPhD Studentssaabye@cc.au.dk5347, 140
Ørberg, SimonAssistant Lecturer
Rosengreen, Simone SkaarupStudent Workersimonerosengreen@cc.au.dk5347
Sencindiver, Susan YiResearch Assistantengsys@cc.au.dk+45871626121481, 458
Eichner, SusanneAssociate professorseichner@cc.au.dk+45871620515335, 244
Balle, Søren
Kristensen, Søren IngerslevStudent Counsellorsorenkristensen@au.dk+458716126487 16 12 64, 020
Bastholm, Søren RørdamPart-time Lecturer
Ngomba, Teke JacobAssociate professorimvjnt@cc.au.dk+45871620085335, 153
Nørgaard, ThomasResearch Assistantthomas.noergaard@cc.au.dk+45227668185347, 142
Gretlund, Tina
Cramer, Tobias ViftrupStudent Workertobias.cramer@tdm.au.dk+45871636021483, 631
Østergaard, Troels GregersenPhD Studenttroelsoestergaard@cc.au.dk5335, 257
Have, Ulrich KarstoftIT Staff Memberukh@cc.au.dk+45871628385335, 258
From, UnniCentre Directorimvuf@cc.au.dk+45513619495335, 241
Teilmann, Xenia SamsøeStudent Workerxenia@cc.au.dk

Employer panel

The participants in the employer panel are involved in developing up-to-date study programs that match the competences companies and institutions demand of their employees. Here is an overview of the panel for the Department of Media and Journalism Studies.


Panel

  • Rasmus Ladefoged, Direktør, Metronome

Forum

Latest publications

Sort by: Date | Author | Title

2017

Upcoming events

Thu 28 Jun
11:00-12:00 | Nygaard 184 (building 5335 room 184)
Information meeting on the PhD program
For all applicants to the programme in ICT, MEDIA, COMMUNICATION AND JOURNALISM.

Head of department

Jakob Isak Nielsen

Associate professor
M
H bldg. 5335, 251
P +4587161986
P +4530587398